Feels Like High School

A grown-ass man walks into a gym,

and feels exactly like a pathetic kid again.

Sees the “cool kids” and breaks out in sweat,

hoping that they haven’t noticed him yet.

Then class begins and it’s partner time,

apparently nobody wants to be mine.

I know this feeling from days gone by,

back when I was confined to Smalltown High.

People laughing at me – real and imagined –

never fitting in and never being accepted.

Funny how things change but then again don’t,

especially ourselves, when we can’t or we won’t.

Nowdays people may call me boss, friend or lover;

but still in my ears what I hear is “loser”.

And a trip to the gym is all that it takes,

to crack my veneer and my confidence break.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

