0 for 26 (Jiu Jitsu)

Straining to recall my training

while strength and will are waning;

my opponent with strength of two of me

holding me down and constricting my gi;

breathing now labored I wiggle and squirm

to create space to struggle and worm

my way to relief and a better position.

Alas, must succumb to this suffocation,

tap-tap and it’s over for the 26th time in a row;

lost again.  Stand up, tie my belt and proffer a bow.

Disappointed to have dropped yet another bout,

but bring on number 27, I think I’ve figured this out.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “0 for 26 (Jiu Jitsu)

  1. Strangle-Holded

    Nice. If this is you, I admire your determination.

Leave a Reply

