Portrait of the Artist (Friday Fictioneers)

still-life-with-doug

Everything in that damned workshop had a story behind it. The shells he spent hours combing the beach for, leaving me partner-less for volleyball, the clock with the jumbled numbers he picked up at some scuzzy flea market normally reserved for buying back whatever you’d had stolen recently. The clock was fitting, he was never on time. Used to joke I spent my life waiting for him, then one time he just never came. Speeding driver snatched my beloved, infuriating artist away forever. And now I had to do…something with his workshop. But not today, today I remember the stories.

 

This story is for the Friday Fictioneers challenge (picture based story, 100 words: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/10/15/17-october-2014/

11 Comments

Filed under Prose, Shorts

11 responses to “Portrait of the Artist (Friday Fictioneers)

  1. Very nice. I like the idea of everything having a story, feeling the anger and hurt then coming back around to wanting to remember each piece.

  2. What sadness to live in such memories.. I can understand the need to keep them.. the balance between the sense of loss and cursing his ineptitude is so real..

  3. I wasn’t expecting that. Very poignant.

  4. Her thoughts ring true – remembering the annoying bits as well as the good. After such a tragedy all the memories are precious. Poignantly told.
    Marg

  5. Sweet story, tragic end. Nicely done.

  6. Dear Mauvais,

    Is that a name or an appellation?

    A lovely story and almost spot on in your description of the items in my workshop. Now I’m going to be watching out for that guy in the speeding car. Thanks.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Mauvais is actually my bastardization of French, meaning “bad,” thus mauvaispoemes for “bad poetry,” though I think in correct French it should actually be “mauvaise poesie.”

      Anyway, I’m Alvin, and thanks for stopping by!

  7. Dear Mauvaispoemes,

    I sense that she loves and misses him despite the fact that he drives her crazy. Nicely written.
    However, in the fourth line you might want to go back and edit “you’d had stolen.”

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. A very poignant story, nice writing.

  9. This is sweet and sad. I can feel her loss. Well done.

Leave a Reply

